Monday June 19 2017, New Commissioners of the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC) where sworn in by the Lagos State Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode.

Ambode urged the new appointees, Prof. Gabriel Babawale and Dr Noah Lawal, to ensure successful conduct of the forthcoming election into the 57 local governments and local council development areas of the state.

This swearing in & appointment followed the exit of two commissioners who had completed two terms in office.

Also sworn in were members of the State’s Public Procurement Agency, Audit Service Commission, Director-General of the State’s Safety Commission and also inaugurated members of the State Science and Innovation Council.

The newly sworn-in members include Professor Gabriel Olatunde Babawale and Dr. Noah Olanrewaju Lawal-Jinadu as Commissioners of LASIEC; Mr. Bolaji Miftah Are, Mrs. Iyabo Elizabeth Ladipo and Mr. Ayo Adebusoye for the Public Procurement Agency; Mrs. Jokotola Ojosipe-Ogundimu for Audit Service Commission and Mr. Hakeem Dickson as the Director General of the Lagos State Safety Commission.

During the occasion, Ambode said the appointments were strictly informed by the track record of achievements, integrity, and credibility of the members.

Noting that the ceremony was in compliance with the relevant laws establishing the agencies, the Governor urged the members to see their appointment as an invitation and a privilege to be part of the future prosperity of the State.

“Your appointment is a call to public service and I am very confident that you will justify the trust the Government has reposed in your ability and capacity to add value to the corporate governance, growth, and development of the State,” Ambode said.

He added that “let me also add that your appointment is an invitation and a privilege to be part of history as we lay a solid foundation for the future of Lagos, a Lagos that our children and their children will enjoy for many years to come.”





Comments are closed.